Music of the Day

Ludus Tonalis, or Game of Tones, composed in 1942  by Paul Hindemith, consists of 12 three-part fugues and 11 interludes. Interestingly, the last movement is the same as the first, only rotated 180 degrees.




2 thoughts on “Music of the Day

    1. I believe the correct term is retrograde inversion – inversion because it’s flipped, and retrograde because it’s backwards. This technique was commonly employed by post-modern composers working with 12-tone serialism. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s